List Of 19-Member Transition Committee Inaugurated By Gen. Muhammadu Buhari


President-elect, Gen. Muhammadu Buhari (rtd), on Wednesday in Abuja inaugurated a 19-member Transition Committee to liaise with its Federal Government counterpart to ensure a smooth transfer of power.

Mr. Lai Mohammed, the National Publicity Secretary of the All Progressives Congress (APC), released a statement in Abuja saying, the terms of reference of the committee includes to develop a clear framework for liaison with the out-going Administration for the purposes of a smooth hand-over and to receive hand-over documents from Ministries, Departments and Agencies and pin-point the most urgent issues needing urgent confrontation.

It said the committee is also saddled with reviewing and making preliminary assessment of the government’s balance sheet with particular emphasis on the status of assets and liabilities of government; cash flow position of the government; quantum of public domestic and external debt of government and their deployment; government’s out-standing contractual obligations and its ability to meet such obligations and the status of implementation of capital projects.

Furthermore, the committee is also expected to assess the current security challenges facing the country and the counter-insurgency measures taken by the government thus far; the counter policy measures being implemented in the Niger Delta to deal with unrest and major economic crimes in the area.

The committee will assess in particular, the status of the Amnesty Programme, the readiness of the Police and other national security and intelligence agencies in addressing threats to law and order and provide a brief over-view of CBN, NNPC, NCC, Customs and FIRS.

The committee has two weeks to conclude its work.

Speaking at the inauguration on Wednesday, the president-elect charged the committee to assess the information provided to them and to advise him appropriately.

”Needless to repeat, that your Committee – and indeed our Government – are not on a witch-hunt or engaged in fault-finding. We want the facts and nothing but the facts. What has been done cannot be undone. Our job is to learn from the mistakes of the past and attempt to avoid similar.”

Gen. praised Buhari the calibre of the members in the committee, saying they represent some of the best Nigeria can offer. He described the committee chairman, Ahmed Joda, as one of the few surviving links between First Republic civil service to the present day, a man whose versatility includes farming, industry and 21st Century IT and one of Nigerian’s precious assets.

Below is the complete list of committee members:

1. Ahmed Joda – Chairman

2. Doyin Salami – Vice-Chairman

3. Boss Mustapha

4. Muhammad Hayatuddin

5. Abubakar Malami

6. Lawal Jafaru Isa

7. Hadi Sirika

8. Audu Ogbeh

9. Dalong

10. Bola Adesola

11. Wale Edun

12. Nike Aboderin

13. Ogbonnaya Onu

14. Festus Odimegwu

15. John Oyegun

16. Gov. Rotimi Amaechi

17. Tam David West

18. Lai Mohammed

19 Adamu Adamu – Secretary


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here