Akinwumi Adesina, Elected President of African Development Bank



Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development, Akinwumi Adesina, on Thursday emerged the 8th President of the African Development Bank (AfDB)

Adesina will succeed incumbent president, Donald Kaberuka, at the end of his second term as President of the Bank in August 2015. The new AfDB President emerged winner at the end of the election conducted by the Board of the Bank during the annual meeting of the African Development Bank Group in Abidjan.

Mr. Adesina’s victory was announced by the Minister of Planning and Development for Côte d’Ivoire, Albert Toikeusse Mabri, who is currently the Chairman of the Board of Governors of the Bank.

Mr. Adesina defeated seven other candidates, including Sufian Ahmed, the Minister of Finance and Economic Development of Ethiopia; Jaloul Ayed, President, MED Confederation of Tunisia; Kordjé Bedoumra, Minister of Finance and Budget, Republic of Chad; and Cristina Duarte, Cape Verdean Minister of Finance and Planning, who was also a former Director, Private sector development and competitiveness programme, World Bank Project, Cape Verde.

The others were Samura Kamara, the Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation of Sierra Leone; Thomas Sakala, a Zimbabwean and former Vice-President, Country and Regional Programmes, AfDB; and Birama Sidibé, a Malian, who is also Vice-President, Islamic Development Bank, Jeddah, Saudi Arabia.
The election was held in line with the amended rules of procedure governing the election of the President of the African Development Bank (Article 1).
The amendment requires that the bank holds election for its President during the Annual Meeting.
Mr. Adesina’s ambition to head the body was supported by President Goodluck Jonathan and the incoming president, Muhammadu Buhari.
He will assume office on September 1, 2015.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here