Goodluck Jonathan Sets up Committee On Granting Amnesty To Boko Haram


It has happened!

After much speculations and some denial from the office of the presidency, a committee has been set up to start talks into granting members of Boko Haram amnesty. The committe will “constructively engage key members of Boko Haram and define a comprehensive and workable framework for resolving the crisis of insecurity in the country.

Announcing the setting up of the committee, a statement by Dr Reuben Abati, the Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity stated that the committee’s terms of reference will include:

-Developing a framework for the granting of amnesty

-Setting up of a framework through which disarmament could take place within a 60-day time frame

-Development of a comprehensive victims’ support programme

-Development of mechanisms to address the underlying causes of insurgencies that will help to prevent future occurrences.

The committee is made up of the following Nigerians:

Committee on dialogue and peaceful resolution of security challenges in the north

1. Kabiru Tanimu Turaki, Minister of Special Duties – Chairman

2. Sheik Ahmed Lemu – Member

3. Dr. Hakeem Baba Ahmed – Member

4. Col. Musa Shehu, (rtd.) – Member

5. Sheik Abubakar Tureta – Member

6. Dr.Datti Ahmed – Member

7. Senator Sodangi Abubakar – Member

8. Senator Ahmed Makarfi – Member

9. Hon. Mohammed Bello Matawalle – Member

10. Amb. Zakari Ibrahim – Member

11. Comrade Shehu Sani – Member

12. Hajiya Naja’atu Mohammed – Member

13. Mallam Adamu S. Ladan – Member

14. Dr. Joseph Golwa – Member

15. AVM A. I. Shehu – Member

16. Mr. R. I. Nkemdirim – Member

17. DIG P. I. Leha – Member

18. Prof. Nur Alkali – Member

19. Malam Salihu Abubakar – Member

20. Alhaji Abubakar Sani Lugga – Member

21. Barrister Ibrahim Tahir – Member

22. Brig-Gen. Ibrahim Sabo – Member

23. Amb. Baba Ahmed Jidda – Member

24. Group Capt. Bilal Bulama,Rtd. – Member

25. Prof. Bolaji Akinyemi – Member

26. Representative of OSGF – Secretary

The setting up of the committee is coming after the National Security Council on Wednesday, considered a report by the technical committee it set up to review modalities for addressing security challenges in the north.

President Jonathan also approved the constitution of a Federal Government committee on the Proliferation of Small Arms and Light Weapons in keeping with his pledge that Nigeria will work with the United Nations and other countries to stem the worrisome proliferation of small arms and light weapons, and their use in creating insecurity and instability in Nigeria and other developing nations.

Members of the Committee on small arms and light weapons are

1. Amb. Emmanuel Imohe – (Chairman)

2. Amb. Martin I. Uhomoibhi – Member

3. Amb. T. D. Hart – Member

4. Amb.Ghali Umar – Member

5. Amb. B.G. Wakil – Member

6. Mr. Opelusi Olureti – Member

7. Representative of Ministry of Interior – Member

8. Representative of NSA – Member

9. Representative of DG (SSS) – Member

10. Representative of NIA – Member

11. Representative of Federal Ministry of Justice – Member

12. Representative of Ministry of Defence – Member

13. Representative of DIA – Member

14. Representative of the Nigeria Police Force – Member

15. Representative of the Nigerian Customs Service – Member

16. Representative of OSGF – Member

17. Director, International Organisations Dept (MFA) – Secretary


Source: ChannelsTV


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here