12 Nigerian Soldiers Sentenced To Death For Mutiny


A Nigerian military court has sentenced 12 Nigerian soldiers to death after being convicted of commuting the mutiny that happened in Maiduguri, on the 14th May, 2014.

The soldiers had a disagreement with the allocation of weapons deployed to fight to the dreaded Boko Haram terrorist, and also believed they were being led to die in battles. They proceeded to fire shots at Maj-Gen Ahmadu Mohammed, the General Officer Commanding (GOC) of the 7th Division, at Maiduguri’s Maimalari Barracks.

According to a report by SaharaReporters:

The soldiers became angry when they saw the bodies of 12 of their colleagues being brought back from Chibok, where they were killed by militants who ambushed a convoy of soldiers returning from anti-terrorism duties.

The mutineers shot several times into the air and called senior officers “cowards”, accusing them of deliberately putting them in harm’s way.

The soldiers sentenced to death are Cpl Jasper Braidolor, Cpl David Musa, LCpl Friday Onun, LCpl Yusuf Shuaibu, LCpl Igomu Emmanuel, Pte Andrew Ngbede, Pte Nurudeen Ahmed, Pte Ifeanyi Alukhagbe, Pte Alao Samuel, Pte Amadi Chukwudi, Pte Allan Linus, and LCpl Stephen Clement. 5 other soldiers who were also accused have been acquitted.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here