Tiwa Savage, Yemi Alade, Tekno And Wizkid Make Nominee List For 2016 AFRIMA Awards


After thoroughly studying the short listed artist below, the 13 man international  jury have finally released the nominee list for the much anticipated 2016 edition of the All Africa Music Awards (AFRIMA).

Nigeria’s Wizkid, Mavin star Tiwa Savage, Want You singer Yemi Alade and Triple MG’s Tekno all made the nominee list and you would agree with me that all these talented acts have done very well for themselves so far.

Voting would be open to all on August 30th, 2016 while November 4-6, 2016 will include the Africa Music Summit on Friday, November 4, and the AFRIMA Music Village, an open concert-style festival featuring nominees and whole lot of talented acts billed to perform. However, the grand finale would hold on the 6th of November in Lagos hosting nothing less than 2500 guests.

See regional nominee list below;


Best Female Artist, Western Africa

Aramide (Nigeria) ‘I don’t care’
Adiouza (Senegal) ‘Daddy’
Niniola (Nigeria) ‘J’ete
Josey (Ivory Coast) ‘Diplome’
Seyi Shay (Nigeria) ‘Right now’
Temi Dollface (Nigeria) ‘School your face’
Tiwa Savage (Nigeria) ‘If I start to talk’
Yemi Alade (Nigeria) ‘Na Gode’

Best Male Artist, Western Africa

Brymo (Nigeria) ‘ In the city’
Flavour (Nigeria) ‘Dance’
Okyeame Kwame (Ghana) ‘Small small’
Sarkodie (Ghana) ‘Hand to mouth’
Sidikiba Diabate (Mali) ‘ Fais Moi Confiance’
Tekno (Nigeria) ‘Duro’
Wizkid (Nigeria) ‘Baba Nla’

Best Female Artist, Southern Africa

Lira (South Africa) ‘Let there be light’
Lizha James ( Mozambique) ‘Chocolate’
Pah Chihera ( Zimbabwe) ‘Nemoyo’
Sally Boss Madam (Namibia) ‘Natural’
Zahara (South Africa) ‘Imali’
Zonke (South Africa) ‘Reach it’

Best Male Artist, Southern Africa

AKA (South Africa) ‘Composure’
Anatii & Cassper Nyovest (South Africa) ‘Jump’
Black Coffee (South Africa) ‘Come with me’
Dizu Plaatjies (South Africa) ‘Inkomo’
DJ Maphorisa (South Africa) ‘Soweto Baby’
Jah Prayzah (Zimbabwe) ‘Hello’
Kwesta (South Africa) Ngud’

Best Male Artist, Central Africa

C4 Pedro (Angola) ‘Spetxa one’
Ferre Gola (DRC) ‘Tucheze’
Franko (Cameroon) ‘Coller La Petite’
Jovi (Cameroon) ‘Zele’
Nelson Freitas (Angola) ‘Miuda Linda’
Wax Dey (Cameroon) ‘Saka Makossa’
Werasson (DRC) ‘YoTe’

Best Female Artist, Central Africa

Bruna Tatiana (Angola) ‘PometoMudar’
Daphne Ndolo (Cameroon) ‘Ndolo’
Mani Bella (Cameroon) ‘Qui ChercheTronve’
Naomi Achu (Cameroon) ‘Busy Body’
Reniss (Cameroon) ‘La Sauce’
Syssi Mananga (DRC) ‘Juste Un Peu’

Best Female Artist, Northern Africa

Amal Maher (Egypt) ‘EzayFatetny’
Angham (Egypt) ‘WahdaKam La’
Latifa (Tunisia) ‘YaHayati’
Samira Said (Morocco) ‘Mahassalsh’
Sarah Ayoub (Morocco) ‘Ahwak’

Best Male Artist, Northern Africa

Ahmed Soultan (Morocco) ‘Afrobian’
Ahmed Chawki (Morocco) ‘Tsunami’
Amir Diab (Egypt) ‘Al Qahira Cairo’
AymanAlatar (Libya) ‘AymanAlatar’
DJ Van FT  Tyrane (Morocco) ‘#Woman’
HatimAmmor (Morocco) ‘Alawal’
H-Name (Morocco) ‘WachRakNachet’

While regional nominees have been released, nominees in the continental categories will follow suit seven days from now.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here