Channel O Music Awards | Nigerian Videos Dominate

Naeto C in Kini Big Deal

On Tuesday the 14th of July in Johannesburg, South Africa, nominations for the 2009 Channel O Music Video Awards were released and Nigerian videos topped the list with nominations in nine of the 14 categories.

Darey and Naeto C led the pack with double nominations for their ‘Not the girl’ and ‘Kini Big Deal’ videos while Sasha’s ‘Only One’, was the only Nigerian representative in the Best Female Video category.

Even banned videos in Nigeria were nominated. Tu Face’s Enter the place featuring Sound Sultan and Kelly Hansome’s Maga Don Pay were nominated in the Best Afro Pop and Best R N B video categories.

The fifth Annual Channel O Awards will be held at Carnival City, Guateng, on Thursday, 29th October 2009.

Check out the list of Nominees:

Best Male Video
Naeto C – Ki Ni Big Deal
Pro – Uthini Ngo Pro
Buffalo Souljah – Judgement
Hip Hop Panstula – Mpitse
Darey – Not The Girl
Xod – I Want You Back

Best Female Video
Amani – Tonight
Lira – Wa Mpaleha
Lizha James – Estilo Xakhale
Nneka – Heartbeat
Thandiswa Mazwai – Ingoma
Sasha – Only One

Best Newcomer
The Dream – Plenty Plenty
Brian Temba – Dominoes
Nneka – Heartbeat
Khuli – Tswak Stik’em
Jay Ru – Big Boi Anthem
Xod for – Want You Back

Best Duo or Group
Da L.E.S. feat. Bongz & Maggz – We On Fire
Kalibrados – Bambribam
P Square – No One Like You
Buffalo Souljah/Taygrin/Gal level – My Type Of Girl
Mwana Fa/Ay Mamba – Naongea Na Wewe
D’Banj feat. Mo Hit Stars – Pere

Best Dance Video
Master Jam feat. RJ. Benjamin – Change The World
Goldfish – This Is How It Feels
Winnie Khumalo – Live My Life
Tzozo & Professor – Vuma
Lady May – Ndota
Black Coffee feat.. Bucie – Turn Me On

Best Ragga Dancehall Video
Kalaharians – Work The Middle
Buffalo Souljah – Judgement
Bantu – Where Di Water
Wahu – Sweet Luv
Paulino Q – Shake It On Me
Risasi/Collo – Wat U Wote

Best Afro Pop
Kelly Hansome – Maga Don Pay
Winnie Khumalo – Live My Life
Steel – Omoge
Theo – Ndihambela Phezulu
Durella – Enu O Se
Gal Level – Touch Me

Best R&b Video
Lira for Wa Mpaleha
Gxploits – Tear Rubber
Amani – Tonight
Darey – Not The Girl
Brian Temda – Dominoes
2 Face Idibia/Sound Sultan – Enter The Place

Best African West
Ikechukwu – Shoobeedoo
J. Martin feat. Ti Maya & P Sqaure – Good Or Bad
Okyeame Kwame – Woso
Nneka – Heartbeat
9ice feat. 2 Face – Street Credibility
Kwaku T & D-Black – Move

Video of the Year
Taygrin feat. Wendy Harawa – Moto
Da L.E.S. feat Bongz & Maggz – We’re On Fire
Okyeame Kwame – Woso
Naeto C – Ki Ni Big Deal
Rhythmic Elements – 2 By 2
Amani – Tonight

Source: Vanguard NGR



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here