The Future Awards 2012: The Winners


The Future Awards held on Sunday August 26, 2012 in the Garden city of Port Harcourt was indeed a wonderful display to show and remind us that indeed the youth are not just sitting silently but are working to achieve the best in their own way.

The event held after a Saturday Governor’s reception in the state, and a Sunday extensive tour of paths of Rivers led by the commissioner for information and award-winning journalist, Ibim Semenitari.

Guests included the former president of the World Bank, Obiageli Ezekwesili, the deputy governor of the state, founder of the Rainbow Book Club Koko Kalango, entertainment lawyer Efere Ozako, blogger Linda Ikeji, on-air personality Denrele Edun, actors OC Ukeje and Tonto Dike, designers Ohimai Atafo, amongst others

There were performances by Bez, Chidinma, the daughter of Port Harcourt Muma Gee, and national anthem by Nene, Ruby and Shaydee. Timi Dakolo ended the show with a spectacular performance of Great Nation. There was also a documentary playing tribute to January’s fuel subsidy protests and The Corpers who lost their lives in the 2011 elections.

The Future Awards 2012 is hosted by the Rivers State Government, with support from Access Bank, Diamond Bank, Microsoft, and Notore.

The Winners:

Best Use of Advocacy
Babafemi Oyediran (Project Red)

Best Use of New Media

Creative Artist of the Year
Bayo Omoboriowo (Photographer)

Designer of the Year
Toju Foyeh

Excellence in Service – Government
Hadizah Abdullahi (MDGs Office)

Excellence in Service – Journalism
Alkasim Abdulkadir (CNN)

Excellence in Service – Corporate
Ngozi Nkwoji (Senior Brand Manager, NB Plc)

Innovator of the Year – Science & Technology
Seun Onigbinde (BudgIT)

Innovator of the Year – Education
Otto Orondaam (SLUM2School Project)

Actor of the Year
Tonto Dikeh

Musician of the Year

Producer of the Year – Music
J. Sleek

Producer of the Year – Screen
Clarence Peters

On-Air Personality – Radio
Tolu “Toolz” Oniru (Beat FM)

On-Air Personality – Television
Denrele Edun (Channel O)

Entrepreneur of the Year – Entertainment
Micheal Ajereh (Don Jazzy)

Entrepreneur of the Year – Technology
Jason Njoku (Iroko TV)

Entrepreneur of the Year – Media/Communication
Uyi Omokaro (DM2)

Entrepreneur of the Year – General
Ola Orekunrin (Flying Doctors Nigeria)

Young Person of the Year
Idris Akinbanjo (Journalist)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here