Africa Fashion Awards 2010 Winners + Pics



The Africa Fashion Week came to an end on the 3rd of July, 2010 and then came the Africa Fashion Awards which is held every year immediately after the fashion week. This year, the event took place on the 5th of July in Johannesburg, South Africa, and had some very exciting designers and stylists the list of winners. This year’s event was organised by Africa Fashion International.

Our very own Bella Naija beat out Uduak Uduok of LadyBrille to win the award for “Outstanding contribution to fashion communications,” and the International Designer of the year award went to  Duro Olowu. Here is the complete the list of winners:
Designer of the Year (Africa): Black Coffee (South Africa)

Designer of the Year (International): Duro Olowu (Nigeria/British)

Emerging Designer of the Year – Africa : Ituen Basi (Nigeria)

Emerging Designer of the Year – International : Bunmi Koko (Nigeria/British)

Retailer of the Year:

Model of the Year: Sesilee Lopez

Top Makeup Artist: Pat McGrath

Stylist of the Year: Edward Enniful (Ghana)

Accessories Designer of the Year: Albertus Swanepoel (South Africa)

Menswear Designer of the Year – Africa: Stiaan Louw (South AFrica)

Menswear Designer of the Year – International: Ozwald Boateng (Ghana/British)

Male Style Influencer: Michael Jackson

Female Style Icon: Grace Jones

Outstanding Contribution in Photography: Koto Bofolo

Outstanding Contribution to Fashion Communications: Bella Naija (Nigeria)

Outstanding Contribution for Hair Direction: Saadique Ryklief

Most Outstanding Fashion Contribution: Marianne Fassler(South Africa)

Lifetime Achievement Award: Yves Saint Laurent, Azzedine Alaïa and Joseph Joseph Ettedgui

Pics below courtesy of Fashion Africa:











Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here