NEA Awards – J-Martins, MI & Naeto C lead nominations


Not long after the Hip-Hop world awards nominations were announced, Nigerian Entertainment Awards (NEA) released their list of nominations for their 4th awards ceremony to be held on the campus of Howard University in Washington, DC on June 6th 2009.

Naeto C bags 3 nominations
Naeto C bags 3 nominations

Mr Incredible MI, Naeto C and J-Martins lead the nominations with three each. MI and Naeto C go head to head in the Best Album and Best Rapper categories. Naeto C is also nominated for best video of the year, while MI is nominated for best new act of the year. J-Martins got his three nominations in the hottest single of the year, best new act and best music video of the year categories.

The self-proclaimed Entertainer, Dbanj, was nominated for video of the year and album of the year, while his conterpart Don Jazzy was nominated for Producer of the year along with returnee to Naija, Eldee.

I Go Die, Klint de Drunk, Tee A, AY and Jedi will all battle it out in the best comedian category, while Dj X chris, Dj Snoop da damaga, Dj Sose, Dj Mighty mike and Dj Neptune go toe to toe for the best world DJ award.

Before I give off the whole list in my write up, I’ll stop here. The full list of nomiations is shown below. Leave your thoughts and comments… both surprising, disappointing, exciting and just plain disbelief (I wouldn’t see why though).

Best Album of the Year

Entertainer (D’Banj)
U know my P (Naeto c)
Unstoppable (Tuface Idibia)
Undareyted (Dare Art-Alade)
Talk about it (MI)

Hottest Single of the Year

Big boy (Eldee)
Good or bad (J Martins ft Timaya & P-Square)
Shayo (Durella)
Bumper to bumber (Wande coal)
Efi mile (YQ ft da grin)

Best New Act of the Year

MI (Mister Incredible)
J Martins

Gospel Artist of the Year

Midnight crew
Nikki Laoye
Rooftop Mc’s
Lara George
Yinka Ayifele

Music Producer of the Year

ID Cabasa
Jay Slick
Don Jazzy

Best Rapper

Mode 9
Naeto C
Sauce Kid

Best Music Video of the Year

Kini big deal (Naeto C)
Suddenly (D’banj)
Not the girl (Dare Art Alade)
Good or bad (J Martins)
Bosi gbangba (Eldee)

Indigenous Artist of the Year

Yinka Ayifele
Toba Gold
Da Green

Best International Artist

Banky W
Iceberg Slim
Kelly Hansome

Best International Producer of the Year

Dapo Kush
Kid Konnect

Best World DJ

Dj X chris
Dj Snoop da damaga
Dj Sose
Dj Mighty mike
Dj Neptune

Event of the Year

Sisi Ologe (Lagos)
Nigerian Reunion (US)
Rhythm Unplugged
This Day/Arise NY Fashion Week (US)
Miss Nigeria Usa

Best Comedian

I go die
Klint de drunk
Tee a

Best Actor

Desmond Elliot
Jim Iyke
Saheed Balogun
Ramsey Noah
Emeka Ezeronye

Best Actress

Mercy Johnson
Omotola Ekeinde
Rita Dominic
Genevieve Nnaji
Funke Akindele


  1. I am glad that Nigerian Artists are being recognized for their great work; but why is the NIGERIAN! entertainment awards being held in Washington D.C.? What state is Nigeria is that?

  2. yeah…why couldnt this award be held in nija ..where the people petronizing the artist can partake in their joy. WHO DEY BUY ORIGINAL NIJA CD FOR WASHINGTON DC.

  3. My own vote for best DJ is definitely Dj DeeMoney!! Nobody fit spin pass Deemoney abeg.

    I expected to see Mr Capable nominated for more categories. Tuface should be crossed off the best album of the year list, his last album sUCked!!!!!!!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here